Iberianature Forum

Cañones del Gógora

• 5 Replies

Offline Dave

• Full Shroomy
  • León
« on: August 12, 2008, 18:32 PM »
Dear All
Exciting trip report, I am still recovering from.
For several years now I have driven up to Montealegre near Astorga in Leon province, going past a route called the Górgora, which is signposted as medium to high difficulty, 3 to 4 kms. With a time of 3 to 4 hours duration. To me it always seemed a short distance to take so long. This last weekend I was able to put it to the test. My brother in Law, Avelino, had arranged an excursion, up the Górgora, for a party of six, including a local guide, experienced in the walk, Gabriel, Avelno´s two sons, Avelino and Alfonso, Gavino a cousin and experienced hill walker, and two complete novices, my brother in law, Julio, and myself. I was not feeling exactly 100% as I had been suffering from sickness and diarrhea a couple of days previously, in the light of this I should perhaps have decided not to go.
We set out around 9:00 am and had breakfast in the local hostal, before Gabriel joined us. Of course everything started badly, as usual Avelino, had no intention of joining us, and had decided he would provide vehicular support in his Pajaro, with the intention of dropping us off for easier access to the `interesting´parts of the walk. We set up to meet him at the old mine, the start of the actual walk, beating him by several minutes, at this point we were told to wait, while he shot off up a camino forestal, with our guide, Gabriel. With the start of the walk beckoning, we decided to wait and see what he was up to. He reappeared after several minutes, without Gabriel, and told us to get on board, as he had decided we should do the walk in reverse, starting at the source of the river and walking down it. A few minutes later we were reunited with Gabriel, and dumped on top of a hill of some 1400 metres in altitude.