Iberianature Forum

Hi From Mora la Nova

• 8 Replies

Offline cazntony

« on: June 24, 2012, 12:07 PM »
Hi

I have lived in the campo near Mora La Nova (Tarragona region) for one year.
Just recently i have started to notice the birds in the area.
I have just bought a pair of bins and am spending time trying to get used to them.
I seem to get shaky as soon as i pick them up.
I am sure it will get better.
Then i hope to start looking at and identifying some birds.
I am a complete novice but look forward to contributing if i can.

Caz

Offline quentin

« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2012, 21:29 PM »
Caz,

First of all this is a great place for advice if you get stuck with bird identification or any other type of animal or plant.

If your bins are more than 8 times magnification then it is no surprise thinks seem a bit shaky when you look through them. Whenever possible rest your elbows on a
convenient car or gate while looking through them. This helps a lot. Also keep looking at the bird (or whatever it is you are looking at) while you raise your bins to your
eyes. This way it is easier to find what it is you are trying to see.

One important thing is that you have a good field guide (I use Collins Bird Guide to Britain and Europe) and generally assume the bird you see is common. The more time you spend
familiarising yourself with the birds you know the easier it will be to recognise something out of the ordinary.

Good luck and I hope you will find your life enriched as the natural world reveals itself to you!

Andy

Offline cazntony

« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2012, 14:30 PM »
Hi Andy

Thanks for your reply.
My bins are 8 x40. and i getting used to them more and more. 
Thank you for suggesting the book.  I have looked for books but there was so many to chose from and didn't know which was the best.
Look forward to contributing although i suspect it will be asking for  a lot of advice.

Caz

Offline Sue

• Full Shroomy
  • Sierra de Grazalema
    • Grazalema Guide