Iberianature Forum

Saffron

• 5 Replies

Offline cazntony

« on: June 25, 2012, 21:23 PM »
I am new to Spanish cuisine and have found a recipe for paella.
It says "Saffron or colouring"
I am aware saffron can be expensive.  How much do you think i should pay for saffron?
Is it worth paying for or is colouring just as good?

Thanks in advance of any reply.

Caz
'

Offline Waste-Dweller

• ¡Destruida!
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2013, 18:21 PM »
Hallo, I don't know whether this reply is too late. Yes, it's worth paying for saffron and you need only use a tiny bit - one stamen is enough in some dishes (depending on the quantity you're cooking, of course.) There's nothing really similar or nearly as good, but if you don't want to buy saffron, try a little turmeric - that's cheap and is also suitable, whereas artificial colouring is just colouring, without flavour or authenticity. I wonder why so few people grow saffron; it used to be grown in England, so it doesn't need a very hot climate.

Offline Technopat

• Full Shroomy
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2013, 12:34 PM »
Greetings Caz,
Bit late to help you out with that specific paella, but just for the record, azafrán is usually sold as tiny threads (each one a stamen, I suppose) in little flat plastic boxes about an inch and a half long, which cost about 6 euros (0.5 grammes). I suppose it's possible to find better quality/higher priced "ecological" versions and even denominación de origen  (D.O.) versions, but...

I have it on very good authority (mother-in-law, who is an excellent cook) that each box lasts for three of her paellas, i.e., each paella serving around twenty people. She does not use azafrán for any other purpose, which suprised me, but I usually add a couple of threads to my patatas guisadas (similar to Irish stew?). I also know that it's sometimes used in bakailaoa pil-pilean (bacalao al pil-pil), a delicious dish that I've never actually tried to do myself.