Iberianature Forum

Monarch Butterfly

• 11 Replies

Offline quentin

« on: November 02, 2014, 17:16 PM »
Myself and a few friends saw a butterfly today (2 November 2014) at Charca de Suarez, a wonderful small nature reserve near Motril, Andalucia. To me it looked like a Monarch but I'm not sure if there is any other species that I may be mistaking it for. Having done some internet research it seems there is a breeding population somewhere in Southern Spain.

So, could anyone tell me if there is a butterfly here in Andalucia that I may have mistaken the one we saw today with?
Also, where is the breeding population?

Thanks very much,

Andy

Offline Clive

• Administrator
  • Full Shroomy
  • Sierra de Grazalema
    • Wildside Walking Holidays - Spain
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2014, 18:53 PM »
Can you post a picture?

I have seen monarchs in the ebro delta, Valencia and Doñana
I remember years ago when I worked as a gardener on the Costa del Sol monarch caterpillars on asclepia plants I bought in garden centres.....

They are fairly unmistakeable
Explore the nature of Iberia at www.wildsideholidays.com

The beautiful town of Ronda, the City of Dreams?

The spectacular Caminito del Rey, El Chorro and Guadalhorce reservoirs El Camino del Rey

Offline quentin

« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2014, 11:59 AM »
Unfortunately the butterfly was moving at great speed so we were unable to photograph it. I have seen Monarchs in Cornwall but not for many years. I've also seen Plain Tigers and they look similar. I wondered if similar species are seen in Spain.

Andy

Offline GaryM

« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2014, 22:39 PM »
Hi Andy